Questions before I splash out on DCC for the TP&K

For discussion of the issues faced when building a model or layout - how to replicate wood, what glues to use, exactly how much weathering can a Gnat take, a good source of detailing accessories - you get the picture, I'm sure.

Moderator: GnATTERbox Moderators

Gnu Bee
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Interests: GN15 models, Rowland Emett, Fantastical Machines,

Questions before I splash out on DCC for the TP&K

Postby Gnu Bee » Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:16 pm

I have not posted here for ages - sorry if this has been discussed before - if it has can someone point me to the thread?

I am seriously considering building my (long planned) layout with DCC controls.
I have no experience in this but it looks like a good idea - my wiring experience is tiny, indeed I have put off getting started because I don't really understand how elctrofrog points work, is it really simpler to wire a dcc layout? I did on one occasion several years ago operate a US layout which had a very sophisticated dcc system.

My planned layout will probably include a sector plate fiddle yard, end to end working and possibly a reversing loop if I can make it work. But train lengths will be unlikely to be much bigger than 4 wagons. I am using Hornby Smoky Joe and Halling mechanisms so far

My current research points to considering buying the Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance.
I am always surprised about how small my GN-15 locos are despite their apparent large size!
Some questions for those who are more experienced than I.
1. I like the look of the of the Gaugemaster DCC23 2 function decoder because it is really small (10.6 x 8.7 x 2.86mm). It looks like it needs a socket near to the motor - how long can the lead be from the motor to the socket and from the socket to the decoder? What size is the plug and socket - is it larger than the decoder?