Attempting to scratch build

For discussion of the issues faced when building a model or layout - how to replicate wood, what glues to use, exactly how much weathering can a Gnat take, a good source of detailing accessories - you get the picture, I'm sure.

Moderator: GnATTERbox Moderators

kf4mat
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Interests: Gn15 modeling

Attempting to scratch build

Postby kf4mat » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:52 pm

Okay, Since I am going to finally get around to building a layout I thought I would give making a small building a shot. The base structure is just corrugated cardboard and I am going to try a wooden siding material, clapboard I guess it's called.

It is an 8 foot by 10 foot 1:22.5 scale shed, as shown in the pictures below I have a piece of paper simulating a roof but to me it is way too flat. As I am not a carpenter by trade how does one determine the correct pitch for a model roof? In more technical terms from the top plate (sill??) of the building how high should the peak of the truss be.

On mine it is only 1 scale foot and then only because I guessed.

Thanks,

Tom

More_Cats_Than_Sense
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Interests: Railways, Cats, Computers, Beer

Postby More_Cats_Than_Sense » Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:26 pm

When I built my shed/workshop, I put a very shallow pitch on it (6 inches in 4 feet) on purpose; it was to stop the cats from rolling off it when they slept on it :mrgreen:

My storage shed has a nearly flat roof with only a 4 inch fall in 10 feet, deliberately I might add :wink:

A good start on the model by the way :D
Last edited by More_Cats_Than_Sense on Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Barry Weston

If at first you don't succeed, use a bigger hammer.

The only thing that keeps me sane, is the friendship I share with my collection of singing potatoes....

Never knowingly sensible!

Steve Bennett
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Interests: railways?

Postby Steve Bennett » Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:29 pm