How narrow can a B'mann Davenport go?

G scale on 9mm track? Are you mad? If so, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: ian holmes

User avatar
Prof Klyzlr
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:10 am
Location: ...Somewhere deep in the Aussie Bush
Interests: Aussie NG Logging Tramway fan

How narrow can a B'mann Davenport go?

Postby Prof Klyzlr » Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:36 am

Dear G9'ers,

Just a quick, slightly off-the-wall question...

I have a dead B'mann Davenport gas-mechanical,
(split axle gear, very sad :cry: ),

giving me a "glider" body kit.

Anyone thought of dumping such a body/frame onto a LifeLike N gauge SW1200 bogie diesel switcher mech, for G9?

I'm concerned about exceeding the established "3 X Gauge" rule for body width, but the Davenport hood and cab are too good to "just throw in the scrapbox"...

Thoughts????
Happy Modelling,
Aim to Improve,
Prof Klyzlr

User avatar
Adrian
Demi-Millegniumer
Demi-Millegniumer
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:18 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Interests: model railways including Gn15

Postby Adrian » Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:56 am

G'day Prof

If anybody can do it you can :D

Just a thought......If it keeps falling over you can always add training wheels :lol:

Cheers
Adrian Hoad
I might be daft but not stupid.

Imagineering
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Wellington, Gnu Zealand
Interests: On30, Gn15, HO, N & T

Re: How narrow can a B'mann Davenport go?

Postby Imagineering » Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:29 am

Prof Klyzlr wrote:Dear G9'ers,

Just a quick, slightly off-the-wall question...

I have a dead B'mann Davenport gas-mechanical,
(split axle gear, very sad :cry: ),




If you would like to send the 'other' gear over to NZ I would be very appreciative :D

It would mean I get my Gas-Mech up & running.
I'll even convert it into my first Gn15 project to kick me off into the Scale.
Murray McKenzie

Modelling 1/2 Scale Gn15

"Every day I count wasted, in which there have been no trains". -- Nietzsche, (almost)

teetrix
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:58 pm
Location: Germany
Interests: Narrow Gauge in H0 and 0n30/0f

Postby teetrix » Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:25 am

Hi,
Maybe the Davenport on its own is a little bit short for a boogie diesel. But how about this austrian piece as an inspiration?
http://www.schmalspur-modell.at/viewtop ... 847&t=2747

Michael

User avatar
Steve Bennett
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 4512
Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 12:55 am
Location: Exeter, UK
Interests: railways?

Re: How narrow can a B'mann Davenport go?

Postby Steve Bennett » Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:32 pm

Prof Klyzlr wrote:Anyone thought of dumping such a body/frame onto a LifeLike N gauge SW1200 bogie diesel switcher mech, for G9?

I'm concerned about exceeding the established "3 X Gauge" rule for body width, but the Davenport hood and cab are too good to "just throw in the scrapbox"...


I think you would have trouble keeping it upright, the slightest breeze through an open window or someone walking past would probably tip it over :lol:

I guess both gears are gone :?:
If not, just turn the complete wheelsets around and use the good gear to drive it. Having said that, mine were from the very first batch made, so I dont know if you can still do that on the later ones.
Steve Bennett
Sidelines
http://www.pepper7.com

User avatar
Jon Randall
Demi-Millegniumer
Demi-Millegniumer
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:18 pm
Location: NW Leics, England
Interests: Narrow gauge railways, modelling

Postby Jon Randall » Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:46 pm

I converted my Gas Mech to one axle drive by cutting the cog on the other side to the split. It ran at Dereham for 6 hours without a break.
Jon Randall

Needs to stop procrastinating and start modelling

User avatar
Prof Klyzlr
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:10 am
Location: ...Somewhere deep in the Aussie Bush
Interests: Aussie NG Logging Tramway fan

Postby Prof Klyzlr » Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:36 pm

Dear Steve, Jon,

Tried removing the split gear,
and running it on one axle,
but the slop in the siderod holes,
+ the "quartering"

= the mech bound every revolution :(

Ergo, at least on the Davenport I have,
It truly is
"both axles driven, and the rods just come along for the ride..."

I had considered buying a Black Beetle and re-powering it as a 4whl,
but I had a SW1200 on the bench, and the lengths look to <just> match to me... :evil:

However, as aluded to by the subject line,
I agree that without some centreline sectioning,
the stock body appears simply too wide/too top-heavy...

Oh well, I'm sure there's <something> useful can be done with it... :?: :?: :?: :twisted:
Happy Modelling,

Aim to Improve,

Prof Klyzlr

Imagineering
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Wellington, Gnu Zealand
Interests: On30, Gn15, HO, N & T

Postby Imagineering » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:23 am

Prof,

I've just been playing with my Gas-Mech, I removed the offending Gear and changed the shafts so that the one with the working Gear is on the Front.
Runs just fine forwards, but as you say, locks up going the other way.

So try putting the 'Live-Axle' to the Front, (unless you have already), and give it another go.
Murray McKenzie



Modelling 1/2 Scale Gn15



"Every day I count wasted, in which there have been no trains". -- Nietzsche, (almost)

MilesB
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Kent, UK

Postby MilesB » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:04 pm

Prof Klyzlr wrote:but I had a SW1200 on the bench, and the lengths look to <just> match to me...
However, as aluded to by the subject line,
I agree that without some centreline sectioning,
the stock body appears simply too wide/too top-heavy...

I'm sure I've seen this done... Brian (from Canada) on this forum?

Miles

Stumpy
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Martins Ferry, Ohio, U.S.A.
Interests: Trains (particularly Steam) automobiles,(race cars, hot rods, antique cars), history, science,writing

gas-mechanical

Postby Stumpy » Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:22 am

Gee, guys, I don't know because so far I've never had to get inside a Bachmann Davenport.....
Could you just remove the side rods and run it like a common four wheel loco? Wouldn't this elimnate the binding issue?
Could you mount the gas-mechanical shell on a modified Porter or Trolley chassis to make a unique loco?
Or could it just sit beside the engine house as if being repaired, or strip it for parts to make shop side debris and be "scenery?"
How about using the hood on an automobile and using the auto's hood on a rail vehicle? Two projects in one, plus Davenport remains for scenery.
Maybe you could use part of the shell on a flatcar to make a "generator car?"
It seems ashame to waste any of this neat little critter.
Stumpy in Ahia

User avatar
Jon Randall
Demi-Millegniumer
Demi-Millegniumer
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:18 pm
Location: NW Leics, England
Interests: Narrow gauge railways, modelling

Postby Jon Randall » Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:56 pm

Another idea is to build a pizza so it only has to travel in one direction :wink:
Jon Randall

Needs to stop procrastinating and start modelling

User avatar
rue_d_etropal
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 2166
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: Accrington and sometimes France
Interests: France, any narrow/minmum gauge 40cm,50cm , 60cm

Postby rue_d_etropal » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:00 pm

stripping the Davenport down is pretty easy, just take it slowly. Bachmann could even supply replacement gears for little more than postage cost, but I think the gears are the weak point, which is one reason I decided to sell mine. They were just not robust enough for me, but everyone else seems to find them OK, so I think it must be me.
Simon Dawson
(Simon D.),
Narrow gauge Francophile interested in 1m, 60cm,50cm , 40cm and smaller gauges . Build in scales from 1/6th to 1/24th. Also 1/32nd and 1/35th using 16.5mm track to represent 50cm and 60cm gauges.
http://www.rue-d-etropal.com

User avatar
More_Cats_Than_Sense
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 1248
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:10 am
Location: Suffolk, UK
Interests: Railways, Cats, Computers, Beer

Postby More_Cats_Than_Sense » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:14 pm

rue_d_etropal wrote:stripping the Davenport down is pretty easy, just take it slowly. Bachmann could even supply replacement gears for little more than postage cost, but I think the gears are the weak point, which is one reason I decided to sell mine. They were just not robust enough for me, but everyone else seems to find them OK, so I think it must be me.


Your Davenport conversion was the loco of choice for the electrical testing of Smithie's Yard........................................

First electrically powered loco to run :D :D

I know what you mean about the gears though, one of mine stripped the idler gear in the double reduction gearbox :( :( :(
Barry Weston

If at first you don't succeed, use a bigger hammer.

The only thing that keeps me sane, is the friendship I share with my collection of singing potatoes....

Never knowingly sensible!

User avatar
grombert
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:46 pm
Location: Crowborough
Interests: GN15 convert, but still 009

Postby grombert » Tue Sep 08, 2009 8:55 pm

I had a similar problem in 009 with nylon gears on Minitrains locos. They were a 'push' fit on the axle. This puts a bursting stress on them and they split along the radius after a while. This opens the gap between the teeth that stops it working. I found that I could repair them by removing the gear from the axle, reaming it out a bit until it was a 'sliding' fit - thus removing the stress - and refitting them with some superglue. This held them onto the axle and gave a bit of grip to the closed crack. I thought it would be a temporary measure until I could find a suitable brass replacement, but haven't yet needed to find one as they have kept going; provided they aren't over worked. If they split again, a bit more superglue soon cures it.
Because of this I now ream and superglue nylon 'push' fit gears before they break.
Laurie
If you can't manage to BE something then MAKE something instead

User avatar
Prof Klyzlr
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:10 am
Location: ...Somewhere deep in the Aussie Bush
Interests: Aussie NG Logging Tramway fan

Postby Prof Klyzlr » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:29 am

Davenport Owners,

Just got the head's up,
Bachmann have gotten a Spare parts online-ordering thing happening,
INC parts for your Davenport!

http://estore.bachmanntrains.com/index. ... =66_71_123
Happy Modelling,

Aim to Improve,

Prof Klyzlr

User avatar
rue_d_etropal
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 2166
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: Accrington and sometimes France
Interests: France, any narrow/minmum gauge 40cm,50cm , 60cm

Postby rue_d_etropal » Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:11 am

do they advertise gears on their own, or just complete chassis secttion with gears installed?
I got gears from Bachmann service department, for cost of return post and less than £1 coin or stamps , can't remember how muh exactly, but when gears stripped second time I just switched gears round as it was the gears on axle nearest motor than stripped.
just seen other message and it must depend which gear is removed, as I had no problem running back or forward. I might have even left out offending gear and used connecting rods to link traction from one wheel to next.
Simon Dawson
(Simon D.),
Narrow gauge Francophile interested in 1m, 60cm,50cm , 40cm and smaller gauges . Build in scales from 1/6th to 1/24th. Also 1/32nd and 1/35th using 16.5mm track to represent 50cm and 60cm gauges.
http://www.rue-d-etropal.com

User avatar
joe gilmartin
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Pine Creek Montana
Interests: railroads fishing hunting austin healys

Bachmann....

Postby joe gilmartin » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:46 pm

Prof ......
Thank you ever so much!
My Trolley chassis that the gremlins stole the
wheel sets from ..will soon be back in service
after a vist to Bachmann last night
saved me $ 50.00

thanks for your research

joe gilmartin
JH Gilmartin

Sole owner/operator
Moskito Coast Transfer Line


Return to “GNine”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest