Page 1 of 4

3-D printed Gn15 steam locos

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:59 pm
by tebee
Some one complained about the lack of these, well it's given me the impetus to get the ones I had part completed, if not entirely finished, at least up to a savable condition.

First a couple of small Heywood Katie inspired estate locos

Image

Image

These were designed to fit a Bachman Percy chassis - the reason they never got released was because I never got around to buying one of there to check if it fitted, but looking at some of the dimensions posted on here it should be OK.

Some slightly bigger locos that owe their inspiration to RockyBottom's locos on "Smithies yard", to fit the Hornby "Smokie Joe" chassis



Image

Image

Image

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:52 pm
by More_Cats_Than_Sense
I think I could find a place for the top and bottom ones :)

Posted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 8:02 pm
by henrix72se
Great looking designs! thanks for showing us.

/Henrik

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 11:56 pm
by tebee
Some more been added now

A Spooner quarry loco

Image

A hunslet quarry tank - not 100% happy with this one yet - it might change!

Image

A little more modern side tank

Image


and a tender

Image

Done a couple of early IC locos too - these are somewhat bigger than most Gn15 diesels

Ruston Proctor

Image

Bagnall petrol loco

Image


There's a few more variations, but I won't bore you with them all

just don't complain there is no 3-d printed Gn15 steam locos !

Tom

Posted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:18 am
by chris69
Hi Tom,
LOVE the one you call " A little more modern side tank "
2 Questions, is it available and would it fit a Magic Train Chassis ?
Send me a PM if I can order this one,will do it POST HASTE .
Thanks and
Cheers
Chris :roll: :lol: :roll: :lol: :roll: :lol: 8)

Posted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 7:48 am
by henrix72se
Way to much temptation ..

http://www.shapeways.com/model/1560959/ ... terialId=6

Had to order this, don't really neeed it, but what the heck .. 8)

yes, available to order, just did!

/Henrik

Posted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:29 am
by rue_d_etropal
gnice but a bit too expensive for my little Gn15 layout. Think I will stay with 1/35 for the moment, but might adapt one loco as I know which chassis it fits.

Posted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 1:32 pm
by KEG
The list looks quite impressive. http://www.shapeways.com/shops/tebee?section=Gn15&s=0

Dimensions are quoted, but no suggestions for suitable drives.

Would love to see pictures of finished locos or waggons, using those printed parts

Christian A. from N. seems to have started o built one, using a Fleischmann ANNA chassis. http://www.die-feldbahnsinnigen.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1190

Have Fun

Juergen

Posted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:50 pm
by tebee
Most will fit the Hornby "Smokey Joe"chassis - they are designed round a series of modular parts that are all the same size

Some of the smaller ones were designed to fit the Bachmann "Percey"chassis, but I've never got around to buying one of these myself to check the size.

Will start updating the listings later to say what should fit , but right now I have other problems, Shapeways seem to have introduced a new rule - that a model can't include a part that is too detailed to print - and this is causing most of my models to be rejected.

Tom

Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:05 pm
by tebee
Just to say I've still not got round to digging out my Magic Train Chassis yet, so can't tell if it will fit yet.

Shapeways have been keeping me busy fixing things last few days I'm afraid!

Tom

Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:08 pm
by tebee
Ah almost forgot - here is a picture of one of the 3-d Printed Gn15 wagons - it's been hand - painted with artist's acrylics.

Image

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:40 pm
by Thorness
tebee wrote:Some more been added now

A Spooner quarry loco

Image



Tom,

Can you please tell me the dimension of the hole under this body so I can try to work out which chassis will fit. I know the overall dimensions are shown on Shapeways but it is very difficult to take a measurement off the 3D spinning picture!

Thanks

Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 3:31 am
by tebee
Here is a drawing of it looking from underneath



Image


Tom

Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 1:00 pm
by Thorness
Thanks Tom!

order from shape ways

Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 6:55 pm
by tom yorke
Tebee,
Can you help me with my order of parts that you offer from Shape Ways? I cannot use their site to place an order. It just doesn't work. My Email is tomyorke@bellsouth.net. I would appreciate your help with my order.
Thanks,
Tom

Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:09 am
by tebee
Hi other Tom.

Sorry you have problems there. For people in Europe I can order for them and post on, but as you are in the US it would cost you 20% extra ( VAT, our sales tax)

I've been away and am just back and rather behind with things, but will drop you an email later. Sorry for the delay.

Tom

Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:10 pm
by rue_d_etropal
Just wondering, isn't there someone in USA who could order model. Would it not then be produced in one of the USA based Shapeways workshops?
As others here have found out, import duties either way can be high, so adding to cost.

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:49 am
by chris69
Why would one pay vat on export items?
I never paid vat on anything from Europe . If a product is exported it is generally exempt from vat.
That is actually one main reason that makes buying there reasonable, considering the high shiping cost.
Best
Chris

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:07 am
by tebee
Because I'm in Europe.

I can't order to have things shipped to 3rd parties only to me. I then reship them on to the person that ordered it, but I'm too small to have to register for Vat so I can't reclaim the tax I had to pay on the item when I bought it, if I subsequently export it.

Tom

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:48 am
by rue_d_etropal
Must admit that is something on Shapeways website that puzzled me, but then the rules for VAT and export are a bit crazy.
As a matter of interest has anyone in USA ordered Shapeways items directly? Just wondering which Spapeways outfit actually produces them.
One reason I went with Shapeways myself is that it is a hands off operation, and hopefully there are none of the problems some have experienced over the years with small manufacturing outfits. Apart from a couple of design issues, I have not had to get involved.

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 2:46 am
by tebee
Just a note to say that the prices of these locos have gone a bit crazy under the new Shapeways pricing structure.


Some have decreased significantly while others cost 50% more.

Hopefully over the next few weeks someone will work out exactly how the new system works and how we can optimise for it.

Tom

????????

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 6:47 am
by chris69
Something puzzles me about Shapeways. When you search for Gn15
they show you all the stuff YOU can NOT buy!
Is that just to tease the hell out of us to show the good stuff one can not have?
If it's NOT for sale don't show it!

Cheers
Chris :shock: :shock: :shock: :roll: :roll: :lol: 8)

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:05 am
by tebee
When I do a search it shows me things that are for sale - what are you doing different ?

https://www.shapeways.com/search?q=gn15&sort=

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:22 am
by Willow Creek Traction
Right now shapeways website isn't letting me type anything in the search terms box. And I even told Firefox's Script Blocker to allow all on page.
Pulled up internet explorer - shapeways says it no longer supports the version in this box, pleas use one of the following browswers ... but ... search box works fine in the browser which shapeways does not support.
Go figure.

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:41 am
by rue_d_etropal
Tom, I was a bit puzzled by new price structure. Claims that most items would be cheaper. My 1/35 stuff has gone up a bit, but track pieces have gone down. Some very small items(1/220) have gone down a bit.

As for showing items not for sale, that is to show people what might be coming soon, also the nice indexing system you get with the public page does not exist for development only, so locating items can be a nightmare. I therefore make most things visible so I can find them again. Its a lot easier now now that you can upload to replace models, so don't have to add info again.

Just checked website and no problems accessing it. I needed to check my latest order. I use latest version of Firefox. My IE is way out of date and won't always work but is a useful backup for some sites.