If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Where I come clean and explain what I've done (moving posts around and the like).

Moderator: GnATTERbox Moderators

User avatar
tebee
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:07 pm
Location: Brittany
Interests: just about every scale you can think of....
cute trains generally

If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby tebee » Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:36 am

If you are receiving errors trying to access the forum please try using http://minimumgauge.info rather than gn15.Info.

There seems to have been an error is the transfer of the DNS for this to the new site - we are looking into this, it may clear itself up in time.

Tom
To know the meaning of life you need not to be dealt a good hand, but rather to play the worthless hand you have been dealt to the best of your ability.

User avatar
Gerry Bullock
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 3221
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: S.E.Essex
Interests: Gn15 and O Gauge at Club.

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby Gerry Bullock » Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:44 pm

Slightly worse than that Tom; all links in VE & Loco Shed and for that matter in any thread now get a 403 message.
I also have Gn15.info Business Cards that I give out at shows, a number of other UK Members also have a few of these.
Having said that once one gets accustomed to Gnew format it looks great, many thanks for taking over the baton and long may you hold onto it. :D
So little time, so many ideas!!!!! GerryB.
http://gn15gnutt.blogspot.com/

User avatar
Emrys
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 6:09 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK
Interests: Model railways, photography, website design

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby Emrys » Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:40 pm

Once the DNS is working as expected then links within the forum should start working again.

The situation we currently have is that even though both URLs are set up identically, minimumgauge.info is behaving nicely and is pointing at Tom's hosting while gn15.info is trying to point at both Tom's hosting and my hosting at the same time. This is not helpful and is, we suspect, causing those pesky "403 Forbidden" errors.

The best course of action for now is to wait for the DNS to propagate completely. Even if this doesn't fix all the errors (and it should), we'll be in a much better position to fix any lingering quirks once everyone's ISP is looking in the right place for the files.
Emrys Hopkins

User avatar
Thorness
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:24 pm
Location: Wirral,UK
Interests: Small gauge railways, photography

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby Thorness » Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:47 pm

Great work guys, I'm sure you will get it sorted!!

Thank you!

Cheers

User avatar
tebee
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:07 pm
Location: Brittany
Interests: just about every scale you can think of....
cute trains generally

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby tebee » Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:49 pm

I think all errors should be out of the system now and you should not see the 403 errors.

Let me know if you are still having problems.

Tom
To know the meaning of life you need not to be dealt a good hand, but rather to play the worthless hand you have been dealt to the best of your ability.

martin
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:05 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire
Interests: gn15, audio recording, Film Photography

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby martin » Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:57 am

Is the photo hosting known to be down or do I just have a stubborn ISP?

"I cannot connect to the database because: Access denied for user 'heywood_forum'@'localhost' (using password: YES)"

http://my.gn15.info/

User avatar
tebee
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:07 pm
Location: Brittany
Interests: just about every scale you can think of....
cute trains generally

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby tebee » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:35 am

yes I have changed a few things that will break this I now realize

Will try to fix tomorrow.

Tom
To know the meaning of life you need not to be dealt a good hand, but rather to play the worthless hand you have been dealt to the best of your ability.

User avatar
Nevadablue
Demi-Millegniumer
Demi-Millegniumer
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:33 pm
Location: Nevada
Interests: model trains, model steam
Gn15, G, 1:24ish people and scenery

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby Nevadablue » Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:23 am

I hope everyone is patient. This process isn't an easy one. I lost access again this evening for a while. No biggie. Tom will win and we ALL will win. Hang in there. :D

Larry
True GnATTERbox
True GnATTERbox
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Portland Oregon, USA
Interests: Gn15 micro

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby Larry » Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:03 am

There's another error, Tom.

The arrows on your avatar seem to be pointing the wrong way. ;)

User avatar
Gerry Bullock
Millegniumer
Millegniumer
Posts: 3221
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: S.E.Essex
Interests: Gn15 and O Gauge at Club.

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby Gerry Bullock » Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:53 pm

Hi Tom,
You probably have enough issues however here are a couple more:
If you find an image on the web that links to minimumgauge.info you get this message when you try to view page:
86.176.18.60/viewtopic.php?t=5188&sid=0ccb2c0f17128036b8fdea25d95a61b6
I've tried a couple and similar message occurs however any image linking to Gn15.info does enable a page view.
Minor one the users on line WAS showing 0 when I was on-line now seems OK.
Correction zero is shown against individual thread whereas the Forum count is working.
So little time, so many ideas!!!!! GerryB.

http://gn15gnutt.blogspot.com/

martin
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:05 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire
Interests: gn15, audio recording, Film Photography

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby martin » Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:04 pm

I can now load the my.gn15.info page but it refuses to accept my password, is this still something that's ongoing?

User avatar
tebee
GnatterBox Centurion
GnatterBox Centurion
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:07 pm
Location: Brittany
Interests: just about every scale you can think of....
cute trains generally

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby tebee » Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:14 pm

yes - the format the password is stored in has changed - I need to re-write the code that checks it and it's that is taking longer than I thought.

Having problems getting my programming head going again , not written much code last few years, though I used to do it all day long.

Have a few of my paying jobs and other things I need to do here getting in the way as well.

Tom
To know the meaning of life you need not to be dealt a good hand, but rather to play the worthless hand you have been dealt to the best of your ability.

User avatar
Nevadablue
Demi-Millegniumer
Demi-Millegniumer
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:33 pm
Location: Nevada
Interests: model trains, model steam
Gn15, G, 1:24ish people and scenery

Re: If you have errors use Minimumgauge.info

Postby Nevadablue » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:03 pm

I'm just happy the forum is back again. :D


Return to “Things I've done”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests